Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author  Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Gentlecloud

Singapore
15 Posts

Posted - 06 Jun 2005 :  08:46:20  Show Profile  Email Poster  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this forum and maybe even to the literary world with one recently completed novel under the belt. It has been a very rewarding experience in terms of self-achievement and sheer pleasure when I receive wonderful comments. But then, one cannot live on water and fresh air alone so I would like to ask more bread and butter issues with regards to writing as a career.

I have tons of questions which I guess all new writers have. Where should I go to get them answered? Is there a writer's hitchhiker book that I could plough to get pearls of wisdom and bring some sanity to the wild ideas that I have to push my book out. Are there dos and don'ts that I should observe.

And last but not least, are there online avenues for publishing that are commercially viable.

Desperately seeking......for answers and writers in similar frame of mind : )

Nicholas Liu

Singapore
59 Posts

Posted - 06 Jun 2005 :  13:16:33  Show Profile  Email Poster  Reply with Quote
When you say 'online avenues for publishing', do you mean venues which publish online, or which publish in print and accept submissions online?
Go to Top of Page

Gentlecloud

Singapore
15 Posts

Posted - 06 Jun 2005 :  16:29:35  Show Profile  Email Poster  Reply with Quote
Online publishing such as :

1) posting the softcopy on a story portal which allows pay per read

2) e-books (though that is not strictly online)

3) putting a site up to publicise the book and allow taking of orders. Much like those bookstore portals but those are difficult to break into unless you go the distributor route for self-publishing

4) print on demand
Go to Top of Page

alf

Singapore
92 Posts

Posted - 06 Jun 2005 :  22:57:09  Show Profile  Email Poster  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Gentlecloud

Online publishing such as :